August 25, 2010 – There is a new trend in Colorado. Teenagers are waiting until they turn 18 before getting their driver’s license. Although laws dictating licensure have recently changed, the most common reason teens are waiting is financial.
Licensing for teenagers is guided by statute and can require a tremendous investment of time and money. Colorado law requires teens between the ages of 15 and 18 to complete a state-approved driver education course, including 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training, which can cost between $450 and $800.
In light of our economy, most teens are waiting until they turn 18 because at this age you can walk into a Department of Motor Vehicles, take a written test and walk out with your driver’s license! It’s a positive move as most teens by this age have developed good driving habits and achieved a higher level of maturity and responsibility to hold themselves accountable when driving on their own.